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INTRODUCTION 
 
The Minnesota Supreme Court governs admissions to the bar and the practice of 
law in Minnesota pursuant to Article VI of the Minnesota Constitution and 
Minnesota Statutes Chapter 481.  The Minnesota Supreme Court appoints the 
Board of Law Examiners (Board), which is comprised of nine (9) members, seven 
(7) of whom are lawyers and two (2) of whom are lay persons.  The Board is 
responsible for ensuring that those admitted to the bar in Minnesota have the 
necessary competence and character to justify the trust and confidence placed in 
lawyers.  The Board is governed by the Rules for Admission to the Bar (Rules).  
The Rules are available online at https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/ or in the Minnesota 
Statutes in the Minnesota Rules of Court volume. 
 
The following are some frequently asked questions about the admissions process 
in Minnesota and about the Minnesota Bar Examination: 
 
1. What are the prerequisites for admission to the practice of law in 

Minnesota? 
 
Applicants to the Bar in Minnesota must meet the following requirements: 
 

• be at least 18 years of age; 
• demonstrate good character and fitness through the satisfactory completion 

of a background investigation; 
• meet the legal education requirements described below; 
• have a satisfactory score on the Multistate Professional Responsibility  

Examination (MPRE), unless applying for a legal services license under 
Rule 8 or a temporary house counsel license under Rules 9;  

• not be suspended or disbarred from the practice of law in another 
jurisdiction or any foreign jurisdiction; 

• achieve a satisfactory UBE score on the Minnesota Bar Examination, or be 
eligible for admission without examination by one of the following means:  
(i) years of practice, (ii) transfer of a Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) score 
achieved in another jurisdiction; (iii) transfer of a Uniform Bar Examination 
score (UBE) from another jurisdiction.  

 
2. What are the educational requirements for admission?  
 
Rule 4A(3) outlines the educational requirements for admission.  The Board 
recommends that prospective applicants complete the eligibility questionnaire on 
the Board’s website to verify eligibility. 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
https://apply.ble.mn.gov/eligibility
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Applicants may meet the educational requirements one of three ways: 
 

1. If the applicant has a J.D. degree from a law school that is provisionally or 
fully approved by the American Bar Association (ABA), the applicant meets 
the educational requirements. 
 

2. If an applicant does not have a J.D. from a law school that is provisionally 
or fully approved by the ABA, the applicant must meet the following four 
requirements: 

a. The applicant must hold a bachelor’s degree from an institution that 
is accredited by an agency recognized by the United States 
Department of Education or foreign equivalent; 

b. The applicant must have a J.D. degree or equivalent from a law 
school attended following completion of undergraduate studies; 

c. The applicant must have been licensed to practice law in any state 
or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia in 60 of 
the previous 84 months; and 

d. The applicant must have been engaged, as their principal 
occupation, in the practice of law for 60 of the previous 84 months in 
one or more of the activities listed in Rule 7A(1)(C). 

NOTE: An applicant who meets the educational requirements under this 
provision is only eligible to apply under Rule 6 to take the Minnesota bar 
exam, and must have their eligibility confirmed by the Board before being 
permitted to sit for the exam.  The Board recommends that any such 
applicants apply for an exam date that is at least six months out from the 
date on which they apply. 
 

3. If an applicant does not meet either of the above educational requirements, 
but has practiced law in any state or territory of the United States or the 
District of Columbia for at least 10 years, the applicant may apply. 
 

 
3. How does one begin an Application to the Minnesota Bar? 
 
Persons who want to be admitted to the Bar in Minnesota must do the following:  
 

• Complete the online application for admission to the Bar found at 
https://apply.ble.mn.gov.  The Board recommends that you begin the 
application by completing the eligibility questionnaire to determine whether 
you are eligible for admission and which application type to submit. 

• Checklists of documents that must be included with your application can be 
found on the Board’s website at https://www.ble.mn.gov/how-to-apply.  

 
  

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7A
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
https://apply.ble.mn.gov/
https://apply.ble.mn.gov/eligibility
https://www.ble.mn.gov/how-to-apply
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4. What questions are asked on the Bar Application? 
 
The bar application asks for comprehensive information about the applicant’s 
education, places of residence, employment history, admission in other 
jurisdictions, names and addresses of references, and other information necessary 
for the background investigation.  A sample copy of the application is available at 
https://www.ble.mn.gov/forms/forms/.  Another brochure published by the Board, 
entitled Character and Fitness for Admission to the Bar addresses the scope of the 
investigation. 
 
5. When must the Application for Admission by Examination be filed? 
 
Applicants for admission by bar examination must submit a completed application 
along with the required attachments and fee on or before the published 
examination application deadline.  Late fees are charged in accordance with the 
timelines set forth in Rule 12 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar.  
 
6. What proof do I need of graduation from law school? 
 
For examinees: Because a law student may submit a bar application before 
graduation, applicants must authorize their law school to send a Conferral of 
Degree 30 or more days prior to the examination. If authorized, Minnesota law 
schools will send the Conferral of Degree directly to the Board office.  Out-of-state 
law school graduates must ask their law school to send in a Conferral of Degree 
to the Board.  Whether from an in-state or out-of-state law school, the conferral 
must state either that the applicant has graduated or that the Applicant has fulfilled 
all requirements for graduation and will be graduated within 120 days following the 
date of the bar examination.  Applicants who have not yet graduated at the time of 
application must submit a certified law school transcript showing the date of 
graduation before the Applicant can be admitted.  
 
For non-exam applicants: The Board office will send a degree verification request 
to your law school during the processing of your application.  If there an issue 
receiving a response you will be notified. 
 
See Rule 4C for additional information.  
 
 
 
  

https://www.ble.mn.gov/forms/forms/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/character-and-fitness-requirements/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#12
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#4C
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7. Do graduates of non-ABA approved law schools have additional 

requirements?   
 
Yes.  Please see Question 2 above. 
 
8. When should a non-ABA law school graduate apply?  
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools are strongly urged to apply six or 
more months prior to the bar examination for which they intend to sit.  This will 
afford the Board an opportunity to review and make a determination as to whether 
the Applicant’s practice meets the requirements of the Board’s rules.  See question 
#2 above. 
 
9. How do applicants who have practiced law in another state qualify for 

Admission Without Examination (Rule 7A)? 
 
An Applicant who is a graduate of an ABA-approved law school who seeks 
admission in Minnesota must have engaged in the licensed practice of law in 
another U.S. state or territory for at least 1000 hours per year in the 36 of the 60 
months immediately preceding the application in an activity qualifying under Rule 
7A(1)(c).  Lawyers who meet the 36 month requirement may be admitted without 
examination.  More information can be found in Rule 7A.   
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools may be eligible to apply under Rule 
7A if the applicant has been licensed to practice law in any state or territory of the 
United States or the District of Columbia for at least 10 years.  Graduates of non-
ABA approved law schools who meet the requirements of Rule 4A(3)(b) are not 
eligible to apply under Rule 7A, but may be eligible under Rule 6. 
 
10. How does one qualify for Admission Without Examination on the basis 

of a transferred MBE score (Rule 7B)?  
 
An Applicant who has achieved a scaled score of 145 or higher on the Multistate 
Bar Examination (MBE) taken in another state or jurisdiction may be admitted in 
Minnesota without examination.  A completed application must be submitted within 
three (3) years of the date the Applicant sat for the qualifying examination.  The 
bar examination must have included an essay portion, the Applicant must have 
been successful on the entire examination, and the Applicant must have been 
licensed in the state or jurisdiction in which the MBE was taken.  More information 
can be found in Rule 7B.   
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools may be eligible to apply under Rule 
7B if the applicant has been licensed to practice law in any state or territory of the 
United States or the District of Columbia for at least 10 years.  Graduates of non-

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7A
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7B
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ABA approved law schools who meet the requirements of Rule 4A(3)(b) are not 
eligible to apply under Rule 7B, but may be eligible under Rule 6. 
 
11. Is Minnesota a Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) state?  What is the 

UBE? 
 

Minnesota is a Uniform Bar Examination state. The UBE is comprised of six (6) 
Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) questions, two (2) Multistate Performance Test 
(MPT) questions, and the 200-question Multistate Bar Exam (MBE).  It is uniformly 
administered, graded, and scored by UBE jurisdictions and produces a portable 
bar exam score that can be used to seek admission in other UBE states.  
Minnesota requires a UBE score of 260 for admission.   
 
Applicants seeking admission by UBE score must complete and submit an 
application to the Board office within three (3) years of the date the Applicant sat 
for the UBE examination in which Applicant achieved the qualifying UBE score.  A 
UBE Applicant need not have been licensed in the state or jurisdiction in which the 
Applicant took the UBE.  More information can be found in Rule 7C.    
 
Graduates of non-ABA approved law schools may be eligible to apply under Rule 
7C if the applicant has been licensed to practice law in any state or territory of the 
United States or the District of Columbia for at least 10 years.  Graduates of non-
ABA approved law schools who meet the requirements of Rule 4A(3)(b) are not 
eligible to apply under Rule 7C, but may be eligible under Rule 6. 
 
Note: The October 2020 Emergency Remote Examination administered by some 
jurisdictions is not a valid UBE score and may not be used to transfer into 
Minnesota. 
  
12. Can a UBE score achieved in Minnesota be transferred into another 

UBE state? 
 

An exam score achieved in Minnesota and certified by the National Conference of 
Bar Examiners (NCBE) as a UBE score may be transferred to another UBE state. 
A list of UBE jurisdictions is available on the NCBE’s website. The state to which 
the UBE is transferred makes a character and fitness determination and may have 
other admission requirements.  Each UBE state sets its own passing score.  
Contact the state to which you wish to transfer a UBE score for further details.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#7C
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/#6
https://www.ncbex.org/exams/ube/list-ube-jurisdictions
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13. Must motion applicants meet other prerequisites prior to admission in 
Minnesota?  

 
Applicants for admission on motion must satisfy all the necessary prerequisites for 
admission in Minnesota outlined in Question #1 above.  See Rules for Admission 
to the Bar.  Motion Applicants who have taken the Multistate Professional 
Responsibility Examination in another state may transfer that score to Minnesota.   
 
14. Does Minnesota have only one Bar Application form regardless of the 

type of admission the applicant seeks?  
 
The same online bar application form is used whether the Applicant is applying for 
admission on motion or by examination.  Applicants start the application process 
by creating an online application.  Any Applicant who is unable to use the online 
application should contact the Board Office at (651) 297-1857.  
 
15. Does Minnesota require passage of an ethics test prior to admission? 
 
With the exception of Applicants seeking a license under the house counsel Rule 
9, and legal services programs, Rule 8, Applicants must take the Multistate 
Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) and receive a scaled score of 85 
or higher. 
 
16. What is the MPRE? 
 
The MPRE is a two-hour 50-question multiple-choice test which may be taken 
again if an examinee does not achieve a passing score.  The MPRE tests the 
American Bar Association’s Model Rules of Professional Conduct, as well as the 
Model Code of Judicial Conduct.  For more information, visit the NCBE’s website 
at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/.    
 

17. When and where is the MPRE given? 
 
The MPRE is administered three times per year by the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners (NCBE) at test sites in Minnesota and in other states.  Unlike the 
Minnesota bar examination, the ethics test may be taken during law school.  The 
MPRE is not given as part of the Minnesota bar exam.   
 
18. Is there a practice exam available to help in preparation for the MPRE?   
 
The NCBE makes available, for a modest fee, an online practice exam designed 
to assist examinees as they prepare for the MPRE.  The practice test uses retired 
MPRE questions and provides an explanation as to why each possible answer is 
either right or wrong.  Information regarding the online practice exams is available 
at http://www.ncbex.org/study-aids/.  
 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
https://apply.ble.mn.gov/Accounts/Login
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/
http://www.ncbex.org/study-aids/
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Examinees are encouraged to use these resources in preparation for the 
examination. 
 

19. How is the Minnesota Bar Examination structured and when is it 
given? 

 
The Minnesota Bar Examination is a two-day test consisting of two 90-minute 
Multistate Performance Test (MPT) questions, six 30-minute Multistate Essay 
Exam (MEE) questions, and a 200-question six-hour long multiple-choice 
Multistate Bar Exam (MBE).  The test is given each year in the Twin Cities area, 
on the last Tuesday and Wednesday of the month of February and the month of 
July.   
 
20. Who drafts MEE questions? 
 
Questions on the MEE portion of the Uniform Bar Examination are drafted by law 
professors, judges, and practitioners under the auspices of the National 
Conference of Bar Examiners.  The examination covers at least six of the 13 test 
topics listed in Rule 6E of the Rules.  The essays test general principles of law, not 
Minnesota-specific law.  The questions are designed to elicit a thorough discussion 
of a variety of legal issues and a detailed analysis of the legal problem presented.  
For more information, visit the NCBE’s website at 
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mee/.    
 
21. What Is the Multistate Performance Test? 
 
The National Conference of Bar Examiners’ Multistate Performance Test (MPT) is 
a 90-minute legal skill examination that requires completion of a designated legal 
task.  The test is not intended to test substantive legal knowledge, but rather to 
examine the following six (6) fundamental lawyering skills: 
 

• the ability to sort detailed factual materials and separate relevant from 
irrelevant facts; 

• the ability to analyze statutory, case and administrative materials for 
principles of law; 

• the ability to apply the law to the relevant facts in a manner likely to resolve 
a client’s problem; 

• the ability to identify and resolve ethical dilemmas, when presented; 
• the ability to communicate effectively in writing; and 
• the ability to complete a lawyering task within time constraints. 

 
Two 90-minute performance questions are given during the Tuesday morning 
session.  For more information, visit the NCBE’s website at 
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/.   
 
 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/rules/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mee/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/
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22. How are the MEE and MPT questions graded? 
 
MEE and MPT answers are each graded by a 3-grader team of trained Minnesota 
lawyers.  Each grader on the team receives a copy of the question and is required 
to draft a legal analysis, covering the points which should be included in an answer 
to the question.  The NCBE also provides guidelines to ensure consistency 
between jurisdictions. 
 
Graders participate in calibration sessions to verify consistency and the 
consistency is verified during the grading process.  
 
23. Who are the graders for the MEE and MPT? 
 
The graders are licensed Minnesota attorneys with strong academic credentials 
and varied practical legal experience who have been recommended by bar 
associations, judges, or other graders.  Graders are trained in how best to reach 
consensus, while working with a 3-grader team so that they grade in a fair, 
consistent, and reliable manner.   
 
24. How are the MPT and MEE exams scored? 
 
The graders grade the MPT and MEE answers on a 1 to 6 scale by rank ordering 
the papers from the weakest (a score of 1) to the strongest (a score of 6).  Blank 
answers are scored as zero. Raw scores are converted to scaled scores using the 
standard deviation method of scaling.  (See below for additional information on 
how the scores are scaled and combined).  Each examinee’s scaled MEE and 
MPT score is then added to the examinee’s scaled MBE score to form a total score.  
Examinees with a total scaled score of 260 or above pass the examination.  
Examinees with a total score of 259 or below fail the exam. 
 
25. How are the different sections of the examination weighted? 
 
The MBE examination is weighted 50% of the total examination score; each MEE 
question is 5% for a total weight of 30% for the essay portion of the examination; 
and each of the 2 performance test questions is weighted 10%; totaling 100% of 
the total examination score.   
 
26. How is the total scaled score calculated? 
 
Minnesota examinees’ raw MEE and MPT scores are combined then scaled to the 
distribution of the Minnesota MBE scores using the standard deviation method of 
scaling.  The mean and standard deviation of the MEE and MPT scores are 
converted to the mean and standard deviation of the MBE scores.  An individual’s 
MEE and MPT scores are placed on the same scale as that of the MBE scores. 
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The scaled scores are added together to constitute a total scaled exam score upon 
which the pass/fail decision is made.  A total scaled score equal to or greater than 
260 is a passing score. 
 
The MBE scores are scaled by the National Conference of Bar Examiners to 
previous administrations of the MBE so that the difficulty of the current exam is the 
same as that of previously administered examinations.   
 
27. Are MEE and MPT answers re-graded? 
 
An examinee whose total scaled score is below the passing score of 260 will have 
their MEE and MPT answers re-graded by the other two graders assigned to each 
question.  No person fails the Minnesota Bar Examination unless each of his or 
her MEE and MPT answers is graded and re-graded by graders on each of the 8 
grading teams, a total of 24 graders.   
 
Because there is no minimum passing score on either the MEE/MPT portion or the 
MBE portion, examinees may compensate for a deficiency in one portion of the 
examination by doing well on the other portion.  The total passing score must be 
at or above 260. 
 
28. What is the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)? 
 
The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) is given on the second day of the bar 
examination and consists of 200 multiple-choice questions; 100 questions in the 
morning and in the afternoon sessions. 
 
The MBE covers the following basic areas of law: 

• Torts 
• Contracts 
• Evidence  
• Real Property (including Future Interests) 
• Criminal Law and Procedure 
• Constitutional Law 
• Civil Procedure 

 
For more information, visit the NCBE’s website at 
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/.    
 
29. Are there sample questions and answers available? 
 
Many examinees find that reviewing past MEE and MPT examination questions is 
helpful in preparing for the examination.  Past MEE examination questions, a brief 
summary of past MPT questions, and representative good answers from past 
examinations are available on the Board’s website at https://www.ble.mn.gov/bar-

http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/bar-exam/representative-good-answers/
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exam/representative-good-answers/.  MPT and MBE sample questions are also 
available through the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) website.   
 
30. Is there a practice exam available to help in preparation for the MBE 

portion of the Minnesota Bar Examination?   
 
The NCBE also makes available, for a modest fee, an online practice exam 
designed to assist examinees as they prepare for the MBE.  The practice test uses 
retired MBE questions and provides an explanation as to why each possible 
answer is either right or wrong.  Information regarding the online practice exams is 
available at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/.    
 
Examinees are encouraged to use these resources in preparation for the 
examination. 
 
31. How many times can someone take the Minnesota Bar Examination? 
 
There is no limit on the number of times an examinee can repeat the exam. An 
unsuccessful examinee may apply to retake the Minnesota Bar Examination by 
filing an application and submitting the fee required by the Rules.  This application 
must be received on or before the published late filing deadline, as referenced in 
Rule 2 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar. 
 
32. Does passing the Bar Examination mean an applicant will be 

automatically admitted to the Bar? 
 
Passing the bar examination is only one of the required prerequisites for admission 
to the Bar of Minnesota.  The Board will recommend the admission of an Applicant 
who passes the bar examination and satisfies the other necessary prerequisites 
for admission as outlined in Question #1 (above) and in the Board Rules. 
 
33. Following admission to the Bar, are there other requirements with 

which a lawyer must comply? 
 
Once licensed in Minnesota, a lawyer must comply with other regulations of the 
Supreme Court in order to retain his or her license, including the following: 
 

• Attend 45 hours of approved continuing legal education (CLE) courses 
(including three hours of ethics and two hours elimination of bias) every 
three years and report attendance in a timely manner to the Board of 
Continuing Legal Education (see Rules of the Minnesota State Board of 
Continuing Legal Education);  

• If handling client funds, maintain those funds in an interest-bearing account, 
with interest paid to the Minnesota IOLTA Program (see Rules on Lawyers 
Professional Responsibility); and 

https://www.ble.mn.gov/bar-exam/representative-good-answers/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpt/preparing/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/
http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mbe/preparing/
https://www.cle.mn.gov/rules/
https://www.cle.mn.gov/rules/
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/RLPR.aspx
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/RLPR.aspx
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• Pay an annual license fee to the Lawyer Registration Office of the Supreme 
Court (see Rules of the Supreme Court On Lawyer Registration) and report 
any address or name changes to that office.  

 
The CLE Office and the Lawyer Registration Office are co-located with the Board 
of Law Examiners.  

 
New attorneys should consult the Minnesota Rules of Professional Conduct and 
other Rules of the Supreme Court for other obligations of practice. 
 
34. Does admission to the Bar also mean membership in the Minnesota 

State Bar Association? 
 
Admission to the bar of the State of Minnesota is not the same as membership in 
the Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA).   
 
The MSBA is a voluntary professional organization providing lawyers with valuable 
opportunities for continuing legal education, pro bono service, and professional 
development.  All new attorneys are provided a free year of membership in the 
MSBA.  Following the first year of practice, the lawyer must pay a fee in order to 
maintain membership in the MSBA. 
 
 
35. Is there a different admission procedure for the federal courts? 
 
While a Minnesota license and registration qualifies an attorney to practice in all 
the state courts of Minnesota, further steps must be taken to practice before the 
federal courts.  Admission is administered by the clerk of the federal court.  
Inquiries and requests for application materials should be directed to the federal 
court at (651) 848-1100 or you may find additional information at the United States 
District Court’s website at www.mnd.uscourts.gov/.  
 
36. What should I do if I have questions about the bar admission process 

in Minnesota? 
 
Applicants or potential Applicants to the bar who have questions about the 
admissions process should feel free to refer to the Board’s website 
https://www.ble.mn.gov/ or call the Board office at (651) 297-1857.  

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/court_rules/rule.php?name=prsupr-toh
http://lprb.mncourts.gov/rules/Pages/MRPC.aspx
http://www.mnbar.org/
http://www.mnd.uscourts.gov/
https://www.ble.mn.gov/
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